Международный фортепианный конкурс Рина Сала Галло

Дедлайн: 30/04/2022
Место проведения: Монца, Италия
Дисциплины: Фортепиано
С: 01/10/2022 До: 08/10/2022
Ограничения по возрасту: до 31

February 1st Application submission date for preselection

April 30th Deadline for submitting application; no more than 150 applications will be accepted

May 31th Publication of the names of the selected candidates

June 30th The selected candidates must finalize their applications

October 1st Registration and drawing of lots to determine the performance order

October 2nd-3rd First Round

October 4th-5th Second Round

October 6th Third Round

October 7th Finalists’ rehearsal with orchestra at the Mahler Auditorium

October 8th Final Round and announcement of the Prizewinners

1. The 26th Rina Sala Gallo International Piano Competition will be held in Monza at Teatro Manzoni from October 1st to October 8th 2022.

2. The Competition is open to pianists of all nationalities who are born after October 8th, 1991.

3. Current pupils of any Member of the Jury are excluded from any participation in the Competition. Participants who have been pupils of any Member of the Jury within the two years before January 2022 are also excluded from any participation. This rule does not apply in the case of occasional masterclasses.

4. The public eliminatory will be preceded by a preselection process, based on the evaluation of video material submitted by the candidates (see 7/c.). A maximum of 30 competitors will participate in the First Round; no more than 12 competitors will be selected for the Second Round, no more than 6 for the Third Round, and 3 will be selected for the Final.

5. All participants admitted to the Competition will be provided, if they so wish, with free accommodation in a host family, as well as piano practice facilities for the whole duration of their participation in the Competition. They must be available to take part in side events of the Competition. Persons accompanying the participants will need to make their own accommodation arrangements.

6. No ex-aequo First Prize will be awarded.

The program must consist of:

a. A Prelude and Fugue from the Well-Tempered Clavier by Johann Sebastian Bach, or three movements from any Suite or Partita by J. S. Bach, or three movements from the Suite in D minor HWV 437 by Georg Friedrich Händel.

b. A Chopin Étude

c. A virtuoso étude chosen by the ones of Bartók, Debussy, Godowsky, Ligeti, Liszt, Mendelssohn, Prokofieff, Rachmaninoff, Schumann, Scriabin, or Stravinsky.

d. A performance of solo piano music of no longer than 5 minutes’ duration, composed after 1900.

13. First Round (October 2nd- 3rd)

A program of no more than 30 minutes’ duration, consisting of:

a) A Sonata by Mozart or Haydn

b) Chopin: One work from the following: Ballades, Scherzos, Barcarolle, Polonaise Op. 44, Polonaise-Fantaisie op.61, Fantaisie Op. 49.

14. Second Round (October 4th-5th)

A program of no more than 50 minutes’ duration, consisting of:

Beethoven: One Sonata from the following:

Op. 2 No.3, Op. 7, Op. 10 No. 3, Op. 13, Op. 26, Op. 27 No. 1, Op. 31 Nos. 1, 2, 3, Op. 101, Op. 109, Op. 110

One work from the following:

Schubert: All the Sonatas (except D845 and D960), Wanderer Fantasy Op. 15

Chopin: Sonatas

Liszt: Sonata in B minor

Schumann: Sonatas, Carnaval Op. 9, Kreisleriana Op.16, Fantasy Op. 17, Études symphoniques Op. 13, Humoreske Op.20, Davidsbündlertänze Op. 6

Brahms: Sonatas, Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Händel, Variations on a Theme by Paganini (Book I or II)

15. Third Round (October 6th)

A free recital program of between 50 and 60 minutes’ duration which does not include any piece already presented in the preceding Rounds. However, a piece composed after 1950 must be included. The candidates wishing to compete for the Bach Prize must present an original work or transcription by J. S. Bach.

16. Final Round (October 8th)

One concerto chosen by the applicant from the following:

Mozart: K453, K466, K488, K491, K503, K537, and K595

Beethoven: Concertos Nos. 2, 3, 4 & 5

Chopin: Concertos Nos. 1 & 2

Mendelssohn: Concertos Nos. 1 & 2

Dvořák: Concerto in G minor Op. 33

Schumann: Concerto Op. 54

Liszt: Concerto No. 1

Grieg: Concerto Op. 16

Scriabin: Concerto Op. 20

Rachmaninoff: Concertos Nos. 2, 3 & 4

Ravel: Concerto in G major

The Jury

David Whelton | UK President

Vovka Ashkenazy | Island-Russia

Fabio Bidini | Italy

HyeJin Kim | South Korea

Massimiliano Ferrati | Italy

Daniele Petralia | Italy

Alvaro Teixeira Lopes | Portugal

First prize

€ 20.000 “City of Monza” Prize, awarded by the Municipality

Second prize
€ 8.000 “Banco di Desio e della Brianza S.p.A” Prize

Third prize
€ 5.000 “Monza East & Monza West Rotary Clubs”

Student Bursary Prize
€ 2.000 awarded by the Rina Sala Gallo Music Association in combination with the Special Public Prize

“Tribute to Bach” Prize
€ 2,000 in memory of Prof. Emma Sirtori Bonetti for the best performance of a composition or transcription of J. S. Bach, to be presented in the Third Round.

Read more