16-й Міжнародний конкурс скрипалів Генріка Венявського

Дедлайн: 10/01/2022
Місце проведення: Познань, Польща
Дисципліни: Cкрипка
З: 07/10/2022 До: 21/10/2022
Обмеження за віком: 16-31

The Competition is open to violin players of all nationalities born between 1991 and 2006.

Candidates are qualified for the competition subject to submission of application forms and recordings judged by Preliminary Selection Jury: Augustin Dumay, the Chairman of the Jury of 16th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition; Daniel Stabrawa, the Deputy Chairman of 16th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition and Madeleine Caruzzo.

Candidate qualification principles are specified in separate Preliminary Selection Regulations.

The Competition will be held between 7 and 21 October 2022 in three stages open to the public. All auditions shall take place at Adam Mickiewicz University Auditorium in Poznań, at 1, Wieniawskiego street.

October 8 – 10, 2022 Stage 1

October 11, 2022 Day off – rehearsals with chamber orchestra

October 12 – 16, 2022 Stage 2 / Semi-final with chamber orchestra

October 17, 2022 Day off – rehearsals with symphony orchestra

October 18 – 20, 2022 Stage 3 / final

October 21, 2022 Gala and Prize-Winner Concert

October 23, 2022 Prize-Winner Concert in Warsaw

Cash awards endowed by competition organisers enjoy the status of statutory prizes.
Gross total amount of statutory prize money awarded in the competition is 115,000 Euro.
Winner of the 1st prize receives 50,000 Euro (gross). All cash prizes are subject to 10% tax (withheld by competition organiser). Final distribution of prizes remains competence of the jury.

Participants are entitled to bring their own pianists to the competition.
The organiser does not reimburse pianists’ travel expenses.
The organiser provides accommodation for the pianist, upon submitting such request by a participant to the Competition Office.
The organiser provides free of charge experienced competition pianists to those participants, who make a relevant request in their application form.
In Stage Two (part 2) of the competition, participants shall perform with a chamber orchestra and violist provided by the organizer; in Stage Three – with a symphony orchestra.

The organiser does not reimburse travelling expenses to participants and their pianists.
The organiser does not cover any cost related to the presence of persons accompanying competition participants.
The organiser provides competition participants and their pianists with free accommodation (incl. breakfast) at competition hotel located in the centre of Poznań for the duration of their active participation in the event.

Participants and their pianists are obliged to take out insurance on persons and instruments for the duration of the competition.
Should a participant bring a historical instrument (i.e. older than 55 years) to the competition, he/she is obliged to report it to customs authorities upon crossing the Polish border.
Should a participant use a hired instrument of considerable value, he/she should carry a document to certify his/her right to use it.

Programme of 16th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition in Poznań includes the following compositions to be performed from memory (except for sonatas) in the three stages of the event:

Stage One
Duration of up to 40 mins.

Two capriccios (one from either composer):
N. PAGANINI – Op. 1 (EXCEPT nos. 6, 13, 14 and 16)
H. WIENIAWSKI – Op. 10 (EXCEPT no. 1).

J. S. BACH – one of the following compositions/pairs of compositions:
Grave & Fugue from Sonata No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 1003
OR Adagio & Fugue from Sonata No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1005
OR Chaconne from Partita No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004.

Sonata No. 10 in G Major, Op. 96, 4th movement.

H. WIENIAWSKI – one of the following compositions/pairs of compositions:
Variation on an Original Theme, Op. 15
OR Legend, Op. 17 AND Polonaise in D Major, Op. 4
OR Legend, Op. 17 AND Scherzo-Tarantella in G Minor, Op. 16
OR Fantasy on Themes from Ch. Gounod’s Opera Faust, Op. 20
OR Polonaise Brillante No. 2 in A Major, Op. 21.

Stage Two / Semi-final

Duration of up to 45 mins.

One of the following sonatas for violin and piano:
J. BRAHMS – Sonata No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78
OR Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Op. 100
OR Sonata No. 3 in D Minor, Op. 108
A. DVOŘÁK – Sonatina, Op. 100
E. GRIEG – Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 8
OR Sonata No. 2 in G Major, Op. 13
I. J. PADEREWSKI – Sonata A Minor, Op. 13
F. SCHUBERT – Sonata in A Major „Grand Duo” D. 574
OR Fantasia in C Major, D. 934
R. SCHUMANN – Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 121
K. SZYMANOWSKI – Sonata in D Minor, Op. 9.

One of the following compositions/pairs of compositions:
B. BARTÓK – Rhapsody No. 1
E. CHAUSSON – Poème, Op. 25
J. HUBAY – Carmen Fantasie
N. PAGANINI – Cantabile in D Major, Op. 17 AND Campanella from Op. 7
N. PAGANINI – I Palpiti, Op. 13
M. RAVEL – Tzigane
C. SAINT-SAËNS – Havanaise, Op. 83
C. SAINT-SAËNS – Rondo Capriccioso in A Major, Op. 28
P. SARASATE – Caprice basque, Op. 24
P. TCHAIKOVSKY – “Mélodie” in E-flat Major from Souvenir d’un lieu cher, Op. 42 AND Valse-Scherzo in C Major, Op. 34.

One piece of “Mythes” cycle, Op. 30 (La fontaine d’Arethusa OR Narcisse ORDryades et Pan)
OR Romance in D Major, Op. 23.


Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra in E-flat Major K. 364.

Stage Three / Final

Two concertos for violin and symphony orchestra:

Violin Concerto in F-sharp Minor, Op. 14
OR Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 22.

L. VAN BEETHOVEN – Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61
J. BRAHMS – Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77
A. DVOŘÁK – Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 53
F. MENDELSSOHN-BARTHOLDY – Violin Concerto in E Minor, Op. 64.