Princess Astrid International Music Competition for Young Conductors

Deadline: 10/05/2018
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Disciplines: Conducting
From: 10/09/2018 To: 13/09/2018
Age limit: under 35

Trondheim Symphony Orchestra & Opera invites young conductors to submit applications for competition.

Princess Astrid International Music Competition 2018 takes place in Trondheim, Norway on September 10 – September 13, 2018.

The competition is open for candidates of all nationalities under the age of 35 at the time of the competition.

Application deadline: May 10, 2018, 12:00pm CET.


Application videos

The applicants must upload two videos of contrasting orchestral repertoire, with a minimum duration of 20 minutes all together. The candidate must be clearly visible, filmed from the front or the side and not from a far distance. Both sound and picture quality should be of a high standard, and edited videos are not allowed.

Online application form

To submit your application and upload your videos, please fill out the application form.

A pre jury will select 12 candidates from the application videos.

Selected candidates will receive an invitation by June 5th 2018.

Candidates invited to the competition must confirm their participation by June 15th 2018 at the latest.


Candidates must use specified editions.


Monday 10.09.

To be performed as a 15 minutes long rehearsal session with the orchestra.

  • Wagner: “Lohengrin”, opera, WWV 75, Prelude first act. Edition: Kalmus (Breitkopf reprint)
  • The candidate may choose one of the following two options:
  1. Beethoven: Symphony № 3 in E flat major (“Eroica”) op. 55, first movement. Edition: Bärenreiter.
  2. Beethoven: Symphony № 5 in C minor (“Fate”) op. 67, first movement. Edition: Bärenreiter.


Tuesday 11.09.

To be performed as a 30 minutes long rehearsal session with the orchestra.

  • Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor op. 47, first movement.Edition: Luck´s Leinau reprint.
  • Stravinsky: Petrushka, ballet in 4 scenes for orchestra, part one (to Dance Russe). Edition: Boosey (1947).
  • The candidate may choose one of the following two options:
  1. Brahms: Symphony no 3 in F major, op. 90, first movement. Edition: Breitkopf/Henle.
  2. Dvorak: Symphony no 7 in D minor op. 70, first movement. Edition: Supraphon reprint.


Thursday 13.09.

Two rehearsals with the orchestra, followed by a 30-minutes long performance in the final concert.


  • Beethoven: Egmont overture, op. 84. Edition: Breitkopf.
  • Mozart: The Magic Flute overture, K 620. Edition: Bärenreiter.
  • Beethoven: Coriolan overture, op. 62. Edition: Breitkopf.
  • Vaage: Tjat. Score will be sent to invited candidates June 2018.

Romantic symphony

  • Brahms: Symphony no 1 in C minor, op. 68, first movement. Edition: Henle.
  • Brahms: Symphony no 2 in D major, op. 73, first movement. Edition: Breitkopf.
  • Brahms: Symphony no 4 in E minor, op. 98, first movement. Eiditon: Breitkopf.

NB! The candidates must prepare all three overtures and all three Brahms movements. The jury will decide which overture and Brahms movement each finalist conducts in the final concert. The modern piece will be conducted by all finalists.


The first prize consists of a check of 160.000 NOK and an engagement to conduct the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra in concert at a later date.

The second prize consists of a check of 50.000 NOK.

The third prize consists of a check of 25.000 NOK.

In addition “Finn Audun Oftedal’s Memorial Scholarship” – 20.000 NOK, will be awarded to the best Norwegian candidate in the final rounds.


Eivind Aadland (head of jury) – Internationally renowned conductor, former chief conductor of Trondheim Symphony Orchestra (2003-2010).

Jennifer Spencer – Former artist Manager and director at Harrison Parrot from 1994 to 2016. Currently working with young musicians at the start of their careers.

Maria Frej – Programming chief of classical music at Tivoli Concert hall and Tivoli Symphony Orchestra.

Okko Kamu – Recognized conductor who has held leadership positions with several European orchestras. Currently principal guest conductor of the Singapore Symphony Orchestra.

Lesley Hatfield – renowned violinist, leader of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales.

Guy Braunstein – acclaimed violin soloist, chamber musician and upcoming conductor. Concertmaster of Berliner Philharmonic from 2000 to 2012.

Elise Båtnes – distinguished violinist, currently concertmaster of the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, previos concertmaster of the WDR Orchestra in Cologne.

Stefan Solyom – Principal Conductor of Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra, former General Music Director of Deutsches Nationaltheater und Staatkapelle Weimar.


By submitting an application the candidate automatically agrees to the competition´s rules and regulations, and is obliged to follow these throughout the competition.

The competition has been held biannually since 1953, and has alternated among various instruments. Since 2012 the competition rotates between violin and conducting.